Chemistry and Biochemistry

ISMSC Awards



Cram Lehn Pedersen Prize in Supramolecular Chemistry

Named in honor of the 1987 Nobel Prize in Chemistry winners, the Cram Lehn Pedersen prize recognizes significant, original, and independent work in the field of supramolecular chemistry.

ChemComm, a publishing company specializing in supramolecular chemistry research, sponsors the award.

The winner will receive a monetary honorarium, free registration for the ISMSC meeting and give a lecture at the meeting as well as a short lecture tour organized after the meeting in consultation with the Editor of Chemical Communications.
Those who were awarded their PhD within 10 years of the application year (or who have an award of PhD date together with allowable career interruptions* that would be commensurate with award of their PhD within 10 years) are eligible for the award. (For example, to be eligible for the 2021 award, a person must have received a PhD on or after 1st January 2010.)

Persons wanting to be considered for the award should be in an independent position and send a CV, list of publications (divided into publications from PhD and post-doc and those from your independent work), and if desired a letter of nomination (recommended) to Prof. Roger Harrison (ISMSC Secretary) at by December 31 before the next ISMSC meeting.

*Allowable career interruptions include primary caregiver’s responsibilities, illness, disability or parental leave and must be outlined in a cover letter with supporting documentation. For parental leave, a flat rate of 18 months will be added to the time since award of the PhD for the primary caregiver and for each child born. The same principle also applies for child adoption. [Supporting documents required: birth certificate(s) or passport(s) of the child(ren), family book or any other official document that links the parent and the child(ren).] For all other allowable career interruptions (or if the actual parental leave actually taken was longer than 18 months per child) then an extension will be granted corresponding to the documented time of the period of leave(s) taken. 

1987 Nobel Prize in Chemistry Winners:

Donald J. Cram

University of California,

Los Angeles

Jean-Marie Lehn

University Louis Pasteur

Charles J. Pedersen

Du Pont

Recent Award Recipients:

2011 Amar Flood
2012 Jonathon Nitschke
2013 Tomoki Ogoshi
2014 Oren Scherman
2015 Feihe Huang
2016 Ivan Aprahamian
2017 Tom de Greef
2018 Rafal Klajn
2019 Xiaopeng Li

Chenfeng Ke


Amanda Hargrove


Max Von Delius

Izatt-Christensen Award

Professor Izatt and the late Professor Christensen conceived of the International Symposia and organized the first ISMC in 1977.

IBC Advanced Technologies, Inc., of Utah, USA, sponsors this award.

Winners receive a monetary honorarium and financial assistance for travel expenses to the International Symposium. This award is open to anyone working in the area of macrocyclic chemistry who has not received an international award of $25,000 USD or more.

The Nomination Packet should include: (1) a nomination letter introducing the awardee, (2) a Nomination Statement in four pages or less presenting in detail the background, scientific accomplishments, and other achievements qualifying the candidate for the award, (3) a curriculum vitae for the candidate, (4) three or fewer letters from peers supporting the nomination of the candidate, and (5) a listing of no more than ten publications by the candidate describing his/her scientific work.

Send the nomination packet to Dr. Reed M. Izatt at by February 1 of the year for which you are applying.

Award Founders:

Reed M. Izatt

Brigham Young University

James J. Christensen

Brigham Young University

Recent Award Recipients:

1991 Jean-Pierre Sauvage 2004 Makota Fujita 2017 Harry Anderson
1992 Eiichi Kimura 2005 Kenneth Raymond 2018 Phillip Gale
1993 J. Fraser Stoddart 2006 Roeland Nolte 2019 Luisa De Cola
1994 Daryle Busch 2007 David Leigh 2020 Mitsuhiko Shionoya
1995 David Reindoudt 2008 Akira Harada 2021 Ivan Huc


George Gokel 2009 Omar M. Yaghi 2022 Jonathan Nitschke


Alan Sargeson 2010 Luigi Fabbrizzi
1998 Seiji Shinkai 2011 Andrew Hamilton
1999 Fritz Vögle 2012 Kimoon Kim
2000 Jerry Atwood 2013 Eric Anslyn
2001 Jonathon L. Sessler 2014 Mir Wais Hesseini
2002 C. David Gutsche 2015 Paul Beer
2003 Jeremy K. M. Sanders 2016 Hanadi Sleiman