Chemistry and Biochemistry

Chemistry Department News

Viewing posts for the category Emeritus

Distinguished Chemist and Administrator Passes Away at 85

Posted: Jan 23, 2012

Eliot Andrew Butler died January 19, 2012, at his home in Provo, Utah. He was born February 13, 1926, in Snowflake, Arizona, to David and Jennie Maxwell Butler. From them he learned the virtue and necessity of hard work, as he milked the cow and mucked out her corral, slopped the hogs, fed the chickens and chopped wood for the kitchen stove. He attended elementary schools in Snowflake and in Provo, and high school in ...

Read more

Bevan and Renae Ott Honored at Homecoming Alumni Dinner

Posted: Oct 12, 2011

Department alumni, emeritus professors and current professors gathered in the rotunda of the Benson Science Building on Friday, October 7, for an enjoyable evening talking with old friends and making new ones.

Dr. Greg Burton, chair of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, welcomed the guests and thanked them for their support in “continuing the tradition” of excellence. Dr. Burton also announced the 2011 Distinguished Pillar Award recipient, J. Bevan Ott, a physical chemist.

The ...

Read more

Remembering James Thorne

Posted: Aug 15, 2011

Former chemistry professor, James Thorne, passed away on July 21, 2011 at the age of 73.

Jim joined BYU’s faculty in 1966. As a physical chemist, his research interests ranged from photo dynamic therapy used in cancer treatment to X-ray nanotechnology. Jim was usually involved in several projects and always engaged students in his research.

Former BYU chemistry professor, Fran Nordmeyer, explained that Jim was not only an educator, but a friend to students ...

Read more

Specialized training in the EU Marie Curie Chair

Posted: Jul 14, 2011

An internationally recognized expert in thermodynamics, Dr Lee D Hansen, Professor Emeritus at Brigham Young University, USA, taught his area of expertise, calorespirometry, to the research group affiliated with the EU Marie Curie Chair. Lee Hansen visited the Chair for 12 days, beginning on 24 June 2011.

The visit was funded by TA Instruments, Utah, USA, by the Portuguese company Elnor SA, FCT and the holder of the chair, Birgit Arnholdt-Schmitt. The purpose of the ...

Read more

Emeritus Proffessor's Research

Posted: Feb 25, 2011

Dr. Douglas J. Henderson’s research is currently highlighted onThe Journal of Chemical Physics website homepage,

The article, “Analyzing the components of the free energy landscape in a calcium selective ion channel by Widom’s particle insertion method,” was co-authored by Dr. Henderson along with four other university professors: Dezso Boda, Janhavi Giri, Robert Eisenberg and Dirk Gillespie.

“This is an impressive accomplishment with which you must be very pleased,” JCP ...

Read more

Former Department Employee Dies at 99

Posted: Jan 07, 2011

Leonard “Woody” Woodward died December 25, 2010 at age 99 in his daughter’s home in St. George.

Woody was born October 14, 1911 to Carrie Esp Woodward and Landis Woodward. He grew up in Sand Springs, Oklahoma. From an early age, Woody was involved in ham radio and the Boy Scouts of America (BSA). Having spent 87 years in the organization, Woody is America’s longest-tenured Scout.

“Dad liked to do a lot of ...

Read more

Emeritus Professors Honored at Alumni Dinner October 8

Posted: Oct 12, 2010

About 90 emeritus faculty, current faculty, alumni and their families arrived at the Benson Building Friday evening for the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry’s annual alumni homecoming dinner and program.

The dinner was a delicious buffet from BYU Catering. The room buzzed with talk and laughter as old friends caught up on one another’s lives and others made new friends among the attendees.

After dinner, everyone moved to a lecture hall for two ...

Read more

Dr. Delbert J. Eatough Wins Frank A. Chambers Excellence in Air Pollution Control Award

Posted: Jun 30, 2010

The Air & Waste Management Association held its 103rd Annual Conference & Exhibition the week of June 22-25 in Calgary, Alberta, Canada.

Each year, the Air & Waste Management Association (A&WMA) honors top environmental professionals for outstanding accomplishments and leadership in environmental service. These awards were established by the Association to encourage environmental professionals to serve as models for others and to further the mission and key objectives of A&WMA.

The Frank A. Chambers Excellence ...

Read more