Chemistry and Biochemistry

Eight Faculty Members Receive Awards at Annual University Conference

Posted: Aug 31, 2015

The Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry faculty received a total of eight awards at this year’s Annual University Conference.  The Conference was held August 24, 2015, in the Marriot Center and President Kevin J. Worthen announced the awards.

Dr. Adam T. Woolley was honored to receive a University Professorship award, which acknowledges senior faculty members who are outstanding scholars and teachers.  Woolley has published more than 125 articles and has worked as an investigator on grant awards in excess of $4 million.  Read an article about his work here.

Dr. Steven R. Goates received a Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Teaching Award. The statement about his accomplishments read that the award was in honor of the way he empowers his students.  It also recognized the work he has done on developing new curriculum in the department. Read more here.

Dr. Jennifer B. Nielson was awarded the Karl G. Maeser Professional Faculty Excellence Award for her commitment to provide a solid educational experience for the students in her classes.  Nielson extends that commitment to both the local community and the global community.  Her work in Uganda has resulted in a self-sustaining teacher-education program there. Read more here.

Dr. Steven G. Wood’s outstanding work with large undergraduate classes in general, organic, and biological chemistry was recognized with a General Education Professorship award.  Read more here. Dr. Matthew R. Linford was also honored for his contributions to general education and honors programs with an Alcuin Fellowship. Read more here.

Two of the junior faculty members, Dr. Daniel H. Ess and Dr. Jaron C. Hansen, received awards specifically recognizing the outstanding work of faculty members in early stages of their academic careers.  Ess was given a Young Scholar Award and Hansen was given the BYU Class of 1949 Young Faculty Award. Read more about Dr. Ess and his award here. Read more about Dr. Hansen and his award here.

Finally, for research leading to the development of useful commercial products, Steven W. Graves was named the recipient of the Technology Transfer Award. Read more here.

Congratulations to all award recipients.