Chemistry and Biochemistry

Chemistry Department News

Viewing posts tagged award

Faculty, Staff Honored at Annual Conference

Posted: Sep 11, 2013

President Cecil O. Samuelson welcomed Brigham Young University faculty and staff members back to campus and presented the annual awards during his Annual University Conference address Tuesday, Aug. 27.

John D. Lamb, a professor of chemistry and biochemistry, was given the Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecture Award, the university's highest faculty honor. A widely published and respected inorganic chemist, Lamb was praised as "a university citizen whose interests transcend the narrowly defined areas ...

Read more

Graduate Student Wins Blog Award

Posted: May 21, 2013

Chad Jones, a third-year PhD student working in Dr. David Dearden’s lab, has recently won an award for “best chemistry post.”

The award was presented by Science Seeker, an online entity funded by the National Association of Science Writers that collects the latest science reporting, analysis and discussion. Every year, it accepts nominations for best blog posts in ten different areas including chemistry. This year’s award winners range from professional writers at Scientific ...

Read more

Jerald Bradshaw, Students Recognized at Chemistry Awards Banquet

Posted: Apr 08, 2013

Department administrators decided to change up the April 3 Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry Awards Banquet a bit this year by including the presentation of its annual Department Pillar Award.

Dr. Jerald S. Bradshaw was awarded the honor, which recognizes emeritus professors who have made a significant impact on the department. Organic chemistry professor Dr. Paul B. Savage, who was part of Dr. Bradshaw’s lab when he was an undergraduate, spoke of the many ...

Read more

CPMS Recognizes Dr. Macedone for Excellent Teaching

Posted: Feb 07, 2013

Dr. Jeff H. Macedone recently received the Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award (3-10 years) at the College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences Awards Banquet on Thursday, January 31.

“[Dr.] Macedone is an energetic teacher whose enthusiasm is contagious,” a news article in the college newsletter reads. “Though his courses can be tough, students continue to give him the highest ratings.”

Appropriately, Dr. Macedone’s favorite part about his job is turning students on to chemistry ...

Read more

Y-Chem Commended by American Chemical Society

Posted: Nov 30, 2012

The Y-Chem Society was selected in September to receive its second consecutive Commendable Award for its activities during the last academic year.

The Commendable Award is the second-highest recognition that can be given to student chapters by the American Chemical Society. Y-Chem is one of 81 student chapters selected by the ACS’ Committee on Education to receive a Commendable Award. Dr. Daniel Austin, who served as Y-Chem’s faculty advisor last year, is proud of ...

Read more

Inorganic Chemistry Professor Recognized for Contributions to Ion Chromatography

Posted: Sep 28, 2012

Professor John D Lamb recently received an award for “sustained and significant contribution” to ion chromatography at the International Ion Chromatography Symposium in Berlin, Germany, Sept. 17-20.

Dr. Andreas Seubert, a professor at the University of Marburg, Germany and organizer of this year’s symposium, presented the 2012 Ion Chromatography Award to Dr. Lamb at the conference, which has been held nearly every year since 1988. Dr. Lamb, who goes to the symposium frequently, estimated ...

Read more

Chemistry Professor Recognized for Internationally Accepted Virtual Lab Programs

Posted: Sep 10, 2012

Physical chemistry professor Brian F. Woodfield was honored with two colleagues in the Department of Biology at the Annual University Conference August 21.

Drs. Woodfield, Keith A. Crandall and C. Riley Nelson each received the Creative Works Award, which, according to the conference program, “recognizes faculty members and university personnel who demonstrate outstanding achievement in the development of creative works that have had wide acceptance and distribution nationally or internationally.”

The three highlighted professors all ...

Read more

Dr. Adam Woolley to Receive Reed M. Izatt and James J. Christensen Faculty Excellence in Research Award

Posted: Sep 10, 2012

Professor Adam T. Woolley is the recipient of the 2012 Reed M. Izatt and James J. Christensen Faculty Excellence in Research Award and will present a lecture this week on his research in developing novel systems for application in chemical analysis and materials chemistry.

He and his research group use their knowledge of molecular interactions to make innovations and help streamline existing procedures such as quantifying biomarkers (which “have great potential for use in diagnosing ...

Read more