Chemistry and Biochemistry

Network Group Management Instructions

Read below for information about managing a BYU Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry computer network group.

Accessing the Network Group Dashboard

You may report issues and request help by clicking here.

  1. Travel to ipa1.chem.byu.edu.
    • If a security certificate warning pops up instead of the website, follow the instructions listed below.
      • On Google Chrome
        1. Click "Advanced."
        2. Click "Proceed to ipa1.chem.byu.edu (unsafe)."
      • On FireFox:
        1. Click "Advanced."
        2. Click "Add Exception."
        3. Click "Confirm Security Exception."
        4. Log in with a valid BYU Chemistry Department (BYU Net ID) account.
        5. Click the "User Groups" tab located at the top of the page.
        6. Search for and find the desired Chemistry Department network group. 

Controlling the Network Group

Before taking any actions with a network group member's account, you will need the member's name and BYU Chemistry Department web ID.

  1. Finding a Group
    1. Search for your user ID.
    2. Click your username.
    3. Click the "User Groups" tab located by the "Settings" tab.
    4. Click the user group you manage (faculty members manage their lab groups).
  2. Adding a User to a Group
    1. Navigate to the "Group" tab.
    2. Click "+Add."
    3. Search for the student by their name or user ID.
    4. Check the search box and click ">."
    5. Once the student is on the Prospective list, click "Add" to add the student to the group.
      • Check that the student has been added to the group by verifying that the student is listed on the user log-in list.

It is also necessary to navigate to the user's ID and remove them from the undergraduate group and add them to the researcher group.  Failure to do so will restrict the user from accessing the researcher group's drive and files.

  1. Removing a User from a Group
    1. Navigate to the "Group" tab.
    2. Check the box by the name of the student that must be removed.
    3. Click "Delete."
    4. Click "Delete" again when prompted to confirm.
      • Check that the student has been added to the group by verifying that the student is no longer listed on the user log-in list.