Chemistry and Biochemistry

Department Staff Members Receive University Awards

Posted: Aug 25, 2011

President Cecil O. Samuelson paid tribute to all BYU faculty and staff members in the Marriott Center Tuesday morning (Aug. 23), and announced the 2011 recipients of numerous university honors, including six people from the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

Staff members Wayne J. Anderson and Linda Richards were two of those recognized by President Samuelson.

Dr. Wayne Anderson, the grants and personnel administrator for the department, was awarded the top administration award “for outstanding management abilities,” Ben E. Lewis Management Award.

“Wayne Anderson is highly respected and known for his efficiency. … Wayne performs vital functions for the department that include assisting faculty in their preparation for grant applications; monitoring grants, endowments, and gift funds and their expenditures; assisting with the hiring of postdoctoral fellows; and aiding the department chair,” a citation about Dr. Anderson in the University Conference program states. “Wayne has impeccable integrity coupled with respect for sacred resources.”

Linda Richards, the assistant manager in the Chemistry Stockroom, received a President’s Appreciation Award “for exceptional service creativity, and competence.”

“We have a strong core of people working in this university,” President Samuelson said in his address before reiterating the need for continual improvement. “The highest purpose of scholarship is to serve God. … Once again, we congratulate these outstanding award recipients.”

By Jessica Henrie

CPMS dean Scott Sommerfeldt and 

Dr. Anderson

Sommerfeldt and LInda Richards